for piano, violin, viola, and cello
Commissioned by the Music Institute of Chicago
Premiere: The Lincoln Trio at Ravina (August 2012)
Duration: 4 Minutes

SKU: N/A Category:


Occupy was commissioned by the Music Institute of Chicago and is dedicated to the Lincoln Trio and guest violist Masumi Per Rostad. Occupy has as much to do with the populist movement addressing the woes of the market place as it does with an innate human instinct to covet; an instinct necessary for survival, but that has so often been distorted into a “winner takes all” mentality that discredits our humanity. This piece explores this distorted notion of survival through a process of possession and repossession of the musical material among the instruments in the quartet. This work is ultimately intended as a social reflection rather than a political stand. The world premiere performance of Occupy was given at the Ravinia Summer Festival 2012.

Additional information

Score Dimensions

Page Size: 10"x13"

Part Dimensions

Page Size: 8.5"x11"